top of page

Sat, 15 Apr


Coventry Central Hall

15 April 2023: Spring Concert - Dvořák & Beach "From the New World"

A concert featuring the UK Premiere of the Mass in E flat (1891) by American composer Amy Beach and Symphony no 9 'From the New World' (1893) by Antonin Dvorak. This concert is dedicated to the memory of Colin Touchin, Founder and Artistic Director of Spires Music. Scroll down for further details.

15 April 2023: Spring Concert - Dvořák & Beach "From the New World"
15 April 2023: Spring Concert - Dvořák & Beach "From the New World"

Time & Location

15 Apr 2023, 14:30

Coventry Central Hall, Warwick Lane, Coventry CV1 2HA, UK

About The Event

This unique concert foregrounds Amy Beach (1867-1944), in her time an internationally celebrated American composer and performer, who like many women composers was forgotten after her death. Spires Music with the help of the American Women’s Philharmonic Advocacy, and financial support from the Ambache Charitable Trust, will perform her masterpiece Mass in E flat.  We believe this concert to be the premier UK performance of the first complete newly-published Mass.

Antonin Dvořák’s (1841-1904) famous Symphony No 9 “From the New World” was inspired by his time spent in America. It completes the cycle of Dvořák’s symphonies that Colin Touchin aimed to perform with his orchestra.  We mourn his untimely death in September 2022, and this concert is dedicated to his memory.

Natasha Agarwal, Soprano

Gaynor Keeble, Mezzo-Soprano

Ed Harrisson, Tenor

Peter Lidbetter, Bass

Jack Lovell-Huckle, Conductor

Alistair Kennedy, Leader

Tickets available here

Here's a link to Jack Lovell-Huckle talking on Coventry and Warwickshire Radio about Amy Beach, her life and music. Jack Lovell-Huckle on Amy Beach and her music

Share This Event

bottom of page