Spires Music telephone: 01926 774644
email: click here

Page last updated:
Thursday 19 June, 2014


Spires Music is an organisation that exists to give Coventry, Warwickshire and the local region greater access to the riches of the classical repertoire from musicians performing at a professional level.

It was founded in 2005 by Colin Touchin, formerly Director of Music at Warwick University, as a means of fulfilling a desire to create the opportunity for professional and advanced non-professional musicians to work together to provide high quality choral and orchestral performances. It has grown from three or four concerts a year, but has expanded in the last year. In 2012-13 about twelve performances will be given including the Youth Orchestra tour of Poland.

Spires Music comprises the Spires Philharmonic Orchestra (SPO), the Spires Philharmonic Chorus (SPC) and the Spires Youth Orchestra (SYO). The last was founded in 2011 to allow young musicians between 11 and 21 to perform at the highest level possible in the region. The large catchment area ensures access for as many good young musicians as is practicable, and the best players also perform in the Spires Philharmonic Orchestra, giving a smooth transition for young players from initial orchestral experience to professional standards.

For further background details see this page here, and for all other information about the organisation, please use the links at the top and bottom of each page.

5th July 2014 poster

Next Event — Saturday 5th July 2014

On Saturday 5th July, 2014 the Spires Youth Orchestra will present its Summer Concert at King Henry VIII School Hall, Coventry.

This is an exciting and varied programme including works by Leroy Anderson, Debussy, Delibes, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Shostakovich, Strauss, Tchaikowsky, Vivaldi and Weber — and there will be something, familiar and less familiar, for everyone!

It will also feature the World Premiere of "Memoriam" by Adam Sangster.

Soloists are Elinor Davies, (Clarinet) and Julian Zhou & Bella Bourne (Violins)

The concert will be conducted by Colin Touchin.

Click on the thumbnail on the right for a larger version of the poster, and for full details of this concert, see the concert page here.

The concert will begin at 7.30pm. Tickets are £8 (concessions £5) and a family ticket will cost £15 available on the door or from the Box Office: 024 7637 0515.

Concert archives

An archive of previous Spires concerts has now been prepared and can be accessed from the Concert Archives page.

Concert Reviews

Review of combined concert on 16th November 2012 at All Saints, Leamington by Clive Peacock

For a review of the King Henry VIII concert on 31st October 2009 by Clive Peacock, published in the Leamington Courier, see this page here.

For a review of the Spires Youth Orchestra Inaugural Concert on 3rd January 2012 by Clive Peacock, published in the Leamington Courier, see this page here.


This site does not use Cookies. For further information please see our privacy statement.